Destinations in Vietnam

Socialist Republic of Vietnam is the easternmost country on the Indochina Peninsula. With an estimated 94.6 million inhabitants as of 2016, it is the 15th most populous country in the world. Vietnam is bordered by China to the north, Laos and Cambodia to the west, part of Thailand to the southwest, and the Philippines, Malaysia, and Indonesia across the South China Sea to the east and southeast.

Vietnam’s capital city has been Hanoi since the reunification of North and South Vietnam in 1976, while its most populous city is Ho Chi Minh City (formerly Saigon).

Vietnam groups the various provinces into eight regions: Northwest, Northeast, Red River Delta, North Central Coast, South Central Coast, Central Highlands, Southeast, and Mekong River Delta. These regions are not always used, and alternative classifications are possible.

Northwest Vietnam

Northwest Vietnam contains inland provinces in the west of Vietnam's northern part. Two provinces border Laos, and three border China.

Northeast Vietnam

Northeast Vietnam contains most of the mountainous provinces that lie to north of the Red River lowlands.

Red River Delta

Red River Delta contains the small but populous provinces along the mouth of the Red River. The Red River Delta has the smallest area but highest population and population density of all regions.

North Central Vietnam

North Central Vietnam contains the coastal provinces in the northern half of Vietnam's narrow central part. They all stretch from the coast in the east to Laos in the west.

South Central Coast

South Central Coast contains the coastal provinces in the southern half of Vietnam's central part.

Central Highlands Vietnam

Central Highlands Vietnam contains mountainous inland provinces of south-central Vietnam. The region has a high concentration of ethnic minorities.

Southeast Vietnam

Southeast Vietnam contains the lowland parts of southern Vietnam north of the Mekong delta.

Mekong River Delta

Mekong River Delta is Vietnam's southernmost region, mostly containing small but populous provinces in the Mekong delta. It is sometimes referred to as the Southwest region (Tây Nam Bộ, Miền Tây).